Yarai › Best skincare apps 2026

Best skincare apps 2026: compared by what they actually do

Written by the people who make one of them. Read the box below before anything else.

Disclosure and disclaimer. We make YARAI, one of the apps on this page, and we think it is the right choice for the job it is built for. That makes this a comparison with a stake in the outcome, and you should read it that way. It is our opinion, not an independent review, not a lab test and not a peer-reviewed study. We have not measured any app's accuracy, ours included, because no shared test exists that would let you check the result. What we have done is describe each app the way its own makers describe it, quote them, and date every source so you can check us. If we have something wrong, write to [email protected] and we will fix it and say so. Last checked: 30 September 2026.

Why "best" depends on the job

There are a lot of apps that promise to tell you what is in the bottle. They are built for genuinely different jobs: some scan a barcode and look the product up, some read the label, some keep a photo diary of your skin, some cover food and cleaning products as well. The differences in what they do matter more than any star rating, so this page is organised by job, and the table at the bottom only has columns you can verify yourself.

How we compared

We compared only things a reader can check: which platforms an app runs on, whether it needs a barcode, whether it reads a photo of the label, whether it covers food, whether it checks the products in a routine against each other, and whether there is a free tier. Everything was read on 30 September 2026 from the US App Store, Google Play, and each company's own website. Where a website blocked our request we used that company's App Store listing and say so. Outside the US, availability and wording may differ.

We did not compare accuracy (no shared test exists), star ratings (they mostly measure how many people an app has asked) or prices (they change weekly and vary by region).

The one we make, and why we are biased: YARAI

We built YARAI around two ideas, and we will state them as design choices rather than as superiority, because the second kind of claim is one we could not prove to you.

It estimates how much of an ingredient is present, not just whether it is there. An ingredient list is ordered by amount for everything above roughly one percent of the formula. YARAI uses that position to estimate a rough concentration for each ingredient, then scores it against a per-ingredient threshold. The same preservative at a trace level and at an active level get different verdicts. The honest limit: a list gives order, not percentages, so this is an estimate, strongest near the top of a list and weaker toward the bottom.

It tells you what it does not flag. Alongside its conflict rules, YARAI keeps a short list of pairs it deliberately does not warn about, with the reasoning, because a checker you can trust is one that can say no. Niacinamide with vitamin C is on that list.

It also reads the label directly from a photo of the front of the pack, with no barcode and no database entry needed, which is how it handles imported products, small brands and Korean labels. It checks every product in a routine against every other and grades each interaction by severity with the reasoning shown. There is no account and no login. The label photo is sent through our server to Google's text-recognition and product-identification services to read the label, and no images are stored on our servers. It does not recommend products.

What it does not do, so you are not surprised: no barcode scanning, no progress photos, no skin diary. It reads the front of the pack to identify the product, so a back-of-pack photo with no brand on it will fail. English, with Korean rolling out. iOS and Android. Free to scan; a paid tier exists.

The other apps, in their own words

Yuka

Yuka's website says the app "deciphers product labels and analyzes the health impact of food products and cosmetics." Its App Store listing describes the mechanism as scanning "the barcodes of food and personal care products" and states that when a product is rated poorly, Yuka "recommends similar but healthier alternative products." Its site states it is "A 100% independent project" and that no brand can influence scores.

On how cosmetics are scored, Yuka's own help centre says the score "is based on the level of the highest-risk ingredient present in the product." In an article titled "Does Yuka take into consideration the quantity of an ingredient?", it answers: "No, Yuka does not take into account the quantity of each ingredient in the products for several reasons," and gives three: manufacturers almost never list quantities, some ingredients cause problems in very small amounts with no threshold effect, and exposure adds up across the many products a person uses. The same article closes: "Our risk assessment of each cosmetic ingredient takes into account the population's exposure, as well as the generally expected quantities of that ingredient in the different categories of cosmetic products." So Yuka's position, in full, is that it does not use the quantity in a specific product, while its per-ingredient risk level does reflect how much of that ingredient is typically found in that kind of product. That is a different design decision from ours, made for stated reasons, and you should weigh those reasons yourself.

Yuka's help centre also says its ingredient assessment covers effects on "health and the environment," including pollutants, and that its "database contains approximately 12,500 cosmetic ingredients." YARAI does not assess environmental impact, and its scoring library is a few hundred ingredients chosen for having a threshold or a regulatory limit.

Built for: one app across the whole shop, food and cosmetics together, by barcode, with alternatives suggested and an environmental read alongside the health one.

Sources: yuka.io/en; help.yuka.io articles "How are cosmetic products evaluated?" and "Does Yuka take into consideration the quantity of an ingredient?"; App Store listing id 1092799236. All accessed 30 September 2026.

OnSkin

OnSkin's website describes the app as an "Ingredient Checker for Skincare Products" and its FAQ says you can "Scan a product by photo or barcode, or search by name or category," so a barcode is one route rather than a requirement. Its FAQ says ingredient risk levels drawn from sources it names, "IARC, the California EPA, and the European Commission," are "combined into a final Safety Score," and that the assessment covers "carcinogenicity, hormone disruption, allergen potential, and high ingredient concentrations." Products receive one of four bands its site names as "Excellent, Good, Not great, or Bad." Its App Store listing describes coverage of "skincare, makeup, hair care, and household products," says it is "trusted by over 8 million users," and describes a skin-profile quiz that builds "a personalized morning and evening skincare routine."

Built for: checking a cosmetic or household product by photo, barcode or name, with a plain-language band and a personalised routine.

Sources: onskin.com and onskin.com/faq/; App Store listing id 1630768985; Play listing skin.care.product.scanner.skincare.cosmetic.ingredient.checker. All accessed 30 September 2026.

Think Dirty

Think Dirty's website says: "Just scan the product barcode and Think Dirty will give you easy-to-understand info on the product, its ingredients, and shop cleaner options!" Its App Store listing puts it as: "Use our barcode scanner, and Think Dirty instantly delivers easy-to-understand, trustworthy product ratings and ingredient analysis." The listing describes "UPC + OCR Submissions" for products not found: "scan the barcode and the ingredients label, then submit," so reading a label by camera is described as a way to add a missing product rather than as instant analysis. The listing describes comparing products "side-by-side" and says the app is "Loved by over 8 million users." Its website states "3.4M PRODUCTS SUBMITTED."

Built for: barcode-first checking of beauty, personal care and household products, with a user-contributed database.

Sources: thinkdirtyapp.com (homepage; the first quote is the site's own description text); App Store listing id 687176839; Play listing com.thinkdirty.thinkdirtyapp. All accessed 30 September 2026.

EWG's Healthy Living

EWG is a nonprofit. Its App Store listing describes the app as "Barcode-scan any product or search by name to get a simple 1-10 safety score (1 = best)," built on "30+ years of independent research from EWG scientists," covering "more than 200,000 rated products across cosmetics, food and household cleaners," and incorporating its "Skin Deep" cosmetics database. EWG's Skin Deep website lists 154,697 products and describes ratings drawn from "nearly 60 integrated toxicity, regulatory, and study availability databases."

Built for: looking a product up against a large, long-established published database that spans cosmetics, food and cleaning products.

Sources: ewg.org/skindeep/; App Store listing id 703155791. Accessed 30 September 2026. The App Store listing says iPhone; ewg.org/skindeep says the app is available "for Android and Apple devices"; we could not locate a Play listing.

SkinSort

SkinSort's App Store listing says "Snap a photo of a product to see if it's good for your skin," describes daily logging of the products you use with "trends and insights over time," and says: "Some products should not be used together - we'll let you know about potential incompatibilities in your routine."

Built for: building and tracking a routine by photo, with incompatibility warnings across the products in it.

Source: App Store listing id 6478040418; Play listing com.skinsort. Accessed 30 September 2026. skinsort.com returned HTTP 403 to our request, so the listings are cited instead.

Hwahae

Hwahae's App Store listing describes it as "리뷰-성분-랭킹보고 쇼핑까지 한번에!" (reviews, ingredients, rankings and shopping in one) and states it is used by 10 million people in Korea. It describes an ingredient checker for allergens and skin-type ingredients, a compatibility score matching products to a skin profile, and more than a million user reviews. We have not verified the user figure; it is what the maker says.

Built for: the Korean market, combining reviews, ingredient information, rankings and shopping in one app.

Sources: App Store listing id 940056100 (KR store); Play listing kr.co.company.hwahae; hwahae.co.kr. Accessed 30 September 2026. Korean quoted verbatim with our translation.

Pimpl

Pimpl's App Store listing opens: "Meet Pimpl, your personal skin coach for clearer, healthier, glowing skin. Scan your face in seconds for a clear skin score and a personalized tip, every day. Everything runs on your device, so your selfies stay private." Its website describes the same app as "A quiet little skincare journal that builds your routine, tracks every breakthrough and breakdown, and shows you what's actually working," with weekly progress photos, routine tracking, a product scanner and DIY "Treatment Lab" recipes. The site says "Android Coming Soon."

Built for: scanning your face for a daily skin score and keeping a photo diary of your skin and routine over weeks. Its own materials lead with face scanning and journaling rather than ingredient-list analysis.

Sources: App Store listing id 6753636743 (NGSMedia LLC); pimpl.com homepage and pimpl.com/how-it-works/. Accessed 30 September 2026. The listing leads with face scanning; the website leads with the journal. Both are the maker's words and both are quoted.

INKEEDecoder, formerly INCIDecoder

A website rather than an app, so it is not in the table. incidecoder.com now redirects to inkeedecoder.com, which says "We're now INKEEDecoder. Same site, new name." It describes itself as a way to "Decode ingredient lists like a pro," with per-ingredient explanations and categories such as "goodie" and "superstar." Free.

Source: inkeedecoder.com, accessed 30 September 2026.

The table

Objective, checkable columns only. No scores, no stars, no quality judgments. "Not stated" means the maker does not describe it in the sources we checked, not that the app cannot do it.

Needs a barcodeReads a photo of the labelIngredient quantity, in the maker's wordsChecks products in a routine against each otherFree tier
YARAInoyes, front of packestimated per product from label orderyesyes
Yukayes, barcode is the described routenot statednot per product; risk levels reflect category-typical quantitiesnot statedyes
OnSkinno, photo or name also workyes"high ingredient concentrations" listed among criterianot statedyes
Think Dirtyyesfor submitting a missing productnot statedside-by-side comparison describedyes
EWG's Healthy Livingyes, or search by namenot statednot statednot statedyes
SkinSortnot statedyesnot statedyesyes
Hwahaenot statednot statednot statedcompatibility score describedyes
Pimplnot statedproduct scanner describednot statednot statedyes

Covers food as well as cosmetics: Yuka and EWG's Healthy Living. The rest cover cosmetics and personal care, with OnSkin and Think Dirty also describing household products.

Platforms: all eight are on iOS. Android confirmed by a Play listing for YARAI, Yuka, OnSkin, Think Dirty, SkinSort and Hwahae. For EWG's Healthy Living the maker states Android but we could not locate a Play listing. Pimpl's site says "Android Coming Soon."

Free tier: every app listed is free to download on the US App Store as of 30 September 2026. Most, including ours, also sell a paid tier.

How to choose

Ask yourself which job you are hiring the app for.

Frequently asked questions

Which skincare app is best in 2026?

The best skincare app depends on the job: for food and cosmetics together, Yuka or EWG's Healthy Living; for a fast plain-language band on a cosmetic, OnSkin or Think Dirty; for a photo diary of your skin, Pimpl or SkinSort; for estimating how much of each ingredient is in a product and checking a whole routine for conflicts, YARAI, which we make. Pick the one built for the job you have.

What is the best free skincare ingredient app?

Every app on this page is free to download, and most, including YARAI, sell a paid tier. If you mean free to check what is in a product: OnSkin, Think Dirty, Yuka, EWG's Healthy Living, SkinSort and YARAI all describe free scanning or lookup, and INKEEDecoder is a free website. Which one to use still depends on the job, as above.

Do these apps measure ingredient concentration?

None of them measures it; only the manufacturer's formula sheet does that. YARAI estimates it from an ingredient's position on this product's label. Yuka's and OnSkin's own descriptions of how they treat quantity are quoted in their sections above.

Do I need a barcode?

For Yuka, Think Dirty and EWG's Healthy Living, the barcode is the described route. OnSkin, SkinSort and YARAI describe reading a photo. YARAI reads the front of the pack to identify the product.

Are any of these apps medical advice?

No, including ours. None of them diagnoses anything. If you have a skin condition, see a dermatologist.

Is this page independent?

No. We make YARAI. Every fact about another app is quoted from that company's own materials, dated, so you can check it. Tell us if we got one wrong.

Tell us if we got something wrong

If any description on this page is out of date or inaccurate, including one about our own app, write to [email protected] and we will correct it and note the correction here.

Last checked: 30 September 2026.

Get YARAI, free on iOS and Android See every pair we check

All product names and brands are the property of their respective owners and are used for identification only. Their use does not imply endorsement, affiliation or any relationship with YARAI. Descriptions are drawn from each product's own public materials on the dates noted; products change, check the source before relying on anything here. Nothing on this page is medical advice.